Thread: Fred's Addiction...

Thanks
    Thanked 1,035 Times in 443 Posts

Fred's Addiction...

I've been a programmer, of one kind or another for over 35 years. When I'm not programming, my hobby is .... programming. I tried having a life but, renting is such a hassle. Anyway...

I've been working on my home machine. Again.
    It has its own web server. On it I keep copies of articles, and all manner of things I find on the Web. Reading & study material, programming examples, etc.

One of the things I wrote recently, was a note keeping page. I use it, in another tab when reading, to take notes. The notes are saved in their own folder, ClipNotes, with time & date stamp. I also put an add-on toolbar on Firefox that can do the same job at the formatting buttons in the V-bulleting reply page (pic below). This also lets me write formatted posts whether I'm on site, or not.

I keep all this in HTML web page format. So I can browse, read and... Search! A lot of things magically disappear on the web. So instead of links, I'll just copy the page. This machine has only a subset (2 Gigs worth) of my full collection (about 10 Gig).

The cataloging server that comes with it allows an incredible variety of search criterea... it's great. It also uses a huge amount of resources - Disk space, memory, and CPU time. So I built a simple alternative that doesn't.

I have a section on the server called CurEvents, with about 20 folders beneath it - including my notes. I wrote the search to go thru this area, only. When you search, it produces a page like below, with links to the pages with hits.

Heres the part I just figured out: When you go to the page from the search list, the web page is loaded, and the search word is highlighted throughout the page.

If you go the page, by browsing, there are no highlights. The site is completely browsable with a web-style work-alike to File Explorer. Cataloging all the files would be an all day job... not worth it. Pointless, even.